The Mager Book

Genealogy is a hobby that has always fascinated me. Before I was married, living at home with my parents and siblings, I used to love to look at the typed booklets that were made by my Aunt Babe that had my Dad’s side things. I was able to take one side of that family back one more generation. Someday I hope to find out more.7 mager book

On my Mom’s side there was talk of some book, “The Mager Book” that had the history of her Mom’s side of the family. When I got a bit older, my cousin Kelly was kind enough to make some copies of the relevant parts of the book for our family and translate some of it into English for me. The book is written in German. The original was published in 1935.5 mager book(My great grandparents, my grandmother and my great-aunts and uncles.)

4 mager book

My Mother’s cousin Terese Schirmer Piccoli and her son, Martin, translated the 1935 version and the updated 1972 version into English. When my Aunt Gert passed away, her original 1935 book was given to me. It is filled with wonderful pictures and the charts of people, while the English translation is just the text of the book with no pictures and no charts with the names.

3 mager book(From the English translation 2006)

2 mager book(Inside the 1935 version)

6 mager book(I opened this page randomly, photographed it, and then read it.  On the bottom my aunts and uncles are listed, but not my Mom.  I guess she didn’t make it into that version.)

Today in the mail arrived the updated book! It was updated for 2013 by Friedrich Mager. He was kind enough to send us a copy because our Genevieve is the youngest Mager in the book! This updated book is a bunch of name charts, and written in German, but we found ourselves right away.

1 mager book (The updated book that arrived today.)

Perhaps someday I’ll be blessed enough to own a 1972 edition.  That was the year I was born.

A special thanks to cousin Kelly for letting us know about this and sending Friedrich our information. (I was a little busy having a baby when the request for our information came out.) Also, thank you so much, Friedrich, for mailing us a copy and for you well wishes.

4 Responses to “The Mager Book”

  1. Barbara Mager Shapas Says:

    Over the past couple of years I’ve been working on our family genealogy. Always in search of another family connection, I googled “Mager genealogy” today and found myself here at your blog! I’d be curious to find out if we are somehow related, although I never heard any stories of an East coast connection since my relatives settled in the Chicago area. My cousin traced one of our great grandfathers back to Germany in the 1600s. Would love to hear from you via email. Thanks!

  2. Kelly Sieben Says:

    Barbara, this is Kristen’s cousin, Kelly Sieben. If you can give me your father’s full name, birthdate, and birthplace, and those of his father (and whatever else you have), I’ll do my best to see if there is a connection. I love the detective work!

  3. Laura Louise Says:

    Very fascinating! On March 30, my Thornton side of the family had a milestone – the 100th anniversary of when my dad’s dad’s dad (my dad’s Grandpa Skipper) and his wife arrived in New York from Yorkshire, England. They had two kids with them (my grandfather and two younger siblings were born a little later). But because my dad’s dad’s dad was an orphan, we don’t know too much more about his family (just about his wife’s). He did keep his original last name, though, I have been told.

    The Ellis Island website has some info on Skipper (really named John Arthur) and his wife Sarah. They were 5’10” and 5’7″ with blue eyes and arrived second-class (so they skipped the whole Ellis Island thing). Guess that’s partly where the height comes from, haha. I wish I could learn more about Sarah – she traveled with a newborn and another son… I try to imagine her trans-Atlantic move, and it’s pretty mind-boggling.

Leave a Reply

