Susan Branch and Handwriting

Not too long ago, maybe a year or so ago, a friend of mine gave me a copy of a Susan Branch book.  It was a book about Autumn.  Well, I just loved it!  For Thanksgiving this year, we pulled it out and used some of her little table setting ideas.  Around Christmas Joe bought me several of her books (we love used books!) and I even gave a copy of one of her Christmas books away to a friend of mine.  They are eye candy, just so delightful.  Every now and again I get a chance to check Susan’s blog.  Today I stopped there and the post was on writing!   Once again, it is just a joy to read and look at.  It got me thinking about some of the special letters that we have here.

Previously I think there is a post here that talks about a little project we had done.  Each of the children wrote down a few questions such as what was your favorite day, what games did you like to play, what was your school like, etc.  We made copies of these questions so that people could see the handwriting, and sent them to a bunch of family members.  We got back so great responses that we still read to this day.  They are treasures now.  We are also fortunate to have a copy of the handwritten journal of Joe’s grandfather.  He wrote down everything from when he bought a house, to the birth of his children, to when he wrote a letter to his mother.  It is wonderful to have a little piece of him.  On Joe’s other side, we have a letter from his grandfather to his girl…it looked like a break up letter.  Then next letter is from him to her and addressed as, “To my Dear Little Wife…”  We have a letter that Joe’s sister wrote to her grandmother when she was around 8 years old.  Both of them are now deceased.  Now, in this day and age, I find myself writing letters at night after the children have gone to sleep.  They are much more personal than an e-mail and handy when it is too late for a phone call.

Back to the Susan Branch post, it has inspired me once again to keep up with a journal, even if there are just a few lines about the weather.  The blog is nice, but it takes a lot more time to get a post up here than writing a few lines in a journal.

(On a totally different note, little Vincent is sleeping on my lap.  Teh way his face is shaped and the look right now reminds me totally of the Sieben side, maybe even more specifically Mager.)

This whole subject has got me thinking about trying to get the children involved.  We’ll see how that goes.

What have you written lately?  Is it more that a quick e-mail or line on Facebook or Twitter?  Do you have any special letters that you hold dear?  Do you keep a journal or even a nature notebook?

One Response to “Susan Branch and Handwriting”

  1. Laura Louise Says:

    Hello Kristen, Thanks so much for your lovely letter! I love the words you wrote, and of course the green stationary. I have it hanging on my string of Japanese lights right now. I’ll write you soon, I promise! In the mean time, I do a lot of writing, but that’s work, blah, blah, blah. I like hand-written letters so much more. I received your letter when I was sick with strep throat, and it really cheered me up. Thank you so much! Love, Laura

Leave a Reply

