Amy’s Quilt Along Week 4

Once again, Amy has done a fabulous job of instructing people on quiltmaking.   This week’s blocks are the log cabin and a mosaic variation that she calls “Mosaic Number 5.”  They were fun to make.  This morning I went and laid all the block out the best I could and tried to take a picture.  I’ll post it here, even though it is not the greatest. 

Without further delay…

 I didn’t realize how much of a primary color block this was until it was already cut out.  I figured I would go with it and if all else fails, it could be kept out of the quilt.  However, when all the blocks were laid out this morning, it really didn’t look bad, so it’s a keeper.

I love this log cabin block.  It makes me want to do an entire quilt like this, but unfortunately, that is the last of my pink on white, red center, almost all of my purple, and my only pieces of that blue from my scrap bin.  Another note is that I read once that red is the traditional center of a log cabin block.  I have done a few log cabin quilts, and always try to have a red center.

 This mosaic block is a bit busy for me.  Usually, I like things to pop out of the blocks.  In order for that to happen, the green needs to be darker.  None the less, I am pleased with it.  It meets my bright and cheery requirement for this quilt.

 Amy had her mosaic block with blue and green, so I decided to go with her suggestion here. 

And, last, but not least, the picture of all the blocks so far.  Be forewarned, the picture is not the greatest, but the best I could do at the time.

I want to take a minute to thank Amy for this quilt along.  It is so much fun!

9 Responses to “Amy’s Quilt Along Week 4”

  1. Checkerboard Squares Says:

    I like the mosaic quilt block. I might try it. The blue and green is striking.
    Ann–Checkerboard Squares

  2. Joanna Says:

    I love the log cabin, too. Your blocks are very colorful and beautiful.

  3. carol Says:

    Your blocks are really pretty. I like how they all look together.

  4. Sue Says:

    Your blocks look great! The colors are wonderful together!

  5. missknitta Says:

    These are so lovely 🙂 I think the primary colors look just fine with the rest! You were so smart to do two sets of every pair, both in terms of practicing and having lots of wonderful blocks for your finished quilt!

  6. Brittany Says:

    I like the mosiac block-the one you said was busy. I think the pink on it stands out. I like all prints on it make it look different that if you used a solid.

  7. Melissa Corry Says:

    Wow, that is a lot of blocks. You have been super busy! They look great!

  8. Pam Says:

    Gosh, those blocks are gorgeous!! So are you making one quilt? So, so beautiful!

    hugz,
    Pam

  9. krisvog Says:

    Thank you all for the nice comments.

    Pam, yes, I am making one quilt. It will be at least a double size for my daaughters’ bed.

Leave a Reply

