Amy’s Quilt Along Week 2

She did how many blocks?  How many of them are in purple?  Anyone reading this post is going to think I’ve gone nutty.   We were out of the house all morning.  In the afternoon when I checked messages, I also went to Amy’s Creative side blog to see if anyone else had posted links to their week one blocks.  (I am having such a wonderful time looking at every one else’s work!)  To my surprise, Week 2 was posted and there were a few links to finished blocks posted!  I went to my sewing area to figure out what fabrics I was going to use and proceeded to cut them out.  After that it was on to housework and other things that needed to be done.  Tonight after the children went to bed I went back to those blocks and laid them out.  To my surprise, I had done only 1 plus block and 3 of the others.  And of 4 blocks, one was blue and all the rest were purple!  I have no idea why that happened.    I found some other fabrics and made one more plus block, so now I have 5 blocks for week 2.  I’m sure I’ll use them.  Also, this quilt is turning into more of a scrap quilt than anything.  The other thing is that I don’t seem to have too many bright, cheery fabrics.  I tend to like earthy colors, but I am a little surprised at how few blights there are.  Without further adieu, the blocks…(remember to click on the photos for larger images.)

All these pictures have come out a bit dark.  The photos were taken after dark and the flash on my camera only does so much.  There you have it, week 2!  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone else’s bocks this week.  Happy Quilting!

15 Responses to “Amy’s Quilt Along Week 2”

  1. Amy - parkcitygirl Says:

    So pretty! I love the flowers in the second block 🙂

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Very pretty! love your florals!

  3. Melissa Corry Says:

    Awesome. I love the green in last block.

  4. Brittany Says:

    I love the flowers in the second block too! So cute how they seem to just float down the block.

  5. carol Says:

    Wow, your blocks really pop. They look great.

  6. Garilyn Says:

    Your blocks look great!

  7. Laura Louise Says:

    I love these blocks – so cheerful and bring! And I love that parasol fabric – so pretty! I also love the idea of a scrap quilt – it’s sustainable, and it puts less pressure on the quilt to be perfect. Of course, I’ve yet to quilt beyond doll-scale, but you may just inspire me yet…! (But my scraps would have to be all green, of course.)

  8. felicity Says:

    The green is going to look smashing with the purples in your blocks. Nice work!

  9. krisvog Says:

    Thank you for the nice comments.

    That second block is probably my favorite. I found two fat quarters in a great quilt shop east of Nashville in a little town called Watertown. The shop is calle Country Store Quilt shop and is set up in an old country store. If I had it, i could have spent a lot of money and time in that store. Visit there if you are around Nashville!!!

    Laura, I was thinking of you when I did the block with the green.

  10. Amy Sp Says:

    I think the purple, blue, and green look pretty, bright, and bold. Nice work!

  11. Sue Says:

    Your blocks look great and I love all the purples!

  12. Pam Says:

    Well purple is my favorite color!!!

  13. Cortney McLean Says:

    Great choice of fabrics!

  14. Amy Says:

    I love all of the purples. Your blocks look great!

  15. jmommy08 Says:

    Wow – I barely get the one block done! I love the purples.

    Thanks for stopping by to say hi the other day.

Leave a Reply

