Visitors in Bodenburg

There are so many thinks happening, so little time to blog, and so many things to blog about.  First of all, our friends from Texas came to visit.  The one boy is Kevin’s pen pal, so he, especially, was looking forward to this visit for a long time.  They arrived last night, stayed over, and then left late this morning.  We all had a wonderful time!

 (American Girls in Bodenburg!)

    

The children had a great time playing cards, playing musical chairs, playing in the creek, and eating watermelon for dinner and pancakes for breakfast.  I hope they come back soon. 

Now, the garden…Now I remember why I didn’t take as many pictures in the past.  The weeds have officially taken over, and despite my efforts, I cannot keep up with it.  Ugh!  That being said, we are starting to get plenty of summer squash and a LOT of hot peppers.    Then one day I came home to find that my neighbors had left some zucchini for us.  What will I do with it all?  Besides zucchini bread and everything else, I’ll go give some to our other neighbors.  Lucky for us, they like it.  The yellow squash is almost all gone.   It’s not hard to use that up around here.  We had gotten a few out of the garden before that picture was taken.    Up in the pumpkin patch I have some new-to-here bug trying to eat up all the squash blooms.  I may have to make a hot pepper spray and put that on the plants.  It will be interesting to see if we get any beans because the Japanese beetle invasion has just begun!  The traps are hung, but down by the barn, where we don’t grow anything and we don’t have traps, they are all over and bigger than I have ever seen them!  Only time will tell!

In case you are wondering, yes, I am still in the middle of my quilt frenzy.  I don’t think I have ever done this much quilting in this short of a time.  I finished a baby quilt top, which I will not post a picture of in case the recipient looks at my blog.  I have also finished up to Month 7 of the Women’s Voices quilt and have 8 out of 10 Farmer’s Wife Sampler blocks done for June.  (There are 111 blocks, I think, and we’ll be doing aprox. 8 – 10 a month.)  I am also thinking about making another set of Farmer’s Wife blocks as I go.  It would not be too difficult, I’ll use fabric from my stash, and they are fresh in my mind.  All that helps!  We’ll see if I have time for that.  I have Month 8 block cut, laid out and ready to sew.  In the meantime, here are some pictures of completed blocks.  Women’s Voices blocks are 15 inch and the Farmer’s Wife blocks are 6 inch. 

Women’s Voices sampler…

Month 6 blocks

 

Month 7 blocks

  

Farmer’s Wife sampler…

   

    

James’s quilt was finally finished just in time for his 10th birthday.  The actual quilting was done by Sharon Williams. (Piecing and binding done by me!)

     (Remember to click on the pictures to enlarge them a bit.)

Let’s see, my Mom also came for a visit.  It was a week-long and so nice.  She and the children played a lot of cards…

Oh yes, we also have a new little kitten.  This was given to us by a friend.  She is an interesting one.  She gets along with Mary Rose really well.  Actually I think Rose wanted a little play mate.  The new cat is Pumpkin.  She follows the kids down to the creek and loves to be with them.  I got a couple of good shots of Rose, but couldn’t get Pumpkin too well. 

 Pumpkin

  

Now, on a more somber note, we found out that ArchBishop Basil Schott of Pittsburg passed away on the 10th.  We only met him once, but he left quite an impression on us.  Please pray for the repose of his soul. 

On yet another totally different note, we have the coolest UPS driver around.  Tony always plays shoot out with the kids, whether we see him coming up the driveway, or pass him on the road.  It has become quite a game and the kids all love it.  Well, the one day I was babysitting my friend’s 9 children.  When Tony came up, I told all the kids to go out and shoot.  They thought I was nuts, but played along.  We had kids on both sides of the house.  I think Tony was pretty surprised.  He was heard saying things like, “There are too many!”  “Aaahhh, there’s more!”  It was quite a sight and I only wish I had gotten it on video!

Well, that is enough for now, I suppose.  Until next time, God bless you!

One Response to “Visitors in Bodenburg”

  1. KC Says:

    We had such a fun time! My Pumpkin didn’t leave your Pumpkin alone the whole time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

