We’re in the Country Now!

I know it has been a long times since the last post.  I have a lot of pictures to post and notes to write.  What has brought me here tonight for a quick post is this…the District Fair.  Fair time is not usually anything specialsfor us here.  I had been meaning for years to try and get my act together for the local County fair and for the last four years it has come and gone without us.   For the last 3 years we have been out-of-town for the district fair.  This year the Boy Scout troop was presenting colors before the demolition derby.  We didn’t know that before hand.  We just knew that Kevin had to be there by 5:30 in Class A uniform for a flag ceremony.  Joe and I talked about it and we decided to go in because the demolition derby was included in the admission price.  Well, let me tell you, it has been a long time since I was at a demolition derby.  Back in the 80’s my brother raced stock cars in the Street Stock division at Wall Stadium in New Jersey.  A few times a year they had a demolition derby along with a Street Stock race.  I do believe that was the last time I was at one.  As we approached we were all a bit excited.  After all, this was my very first county fair!!!  actually it was a first for all of us except Joe.  Let me just tell you, I had forgotten how much I like demolition derbys.  So much, in fact, that while I was screaming cheering for a station wagon who was nearly out of it, but then coming back to put on a great show, that I actually felt like a true hick.  We’ll go back later this week to go see the exhibits of fruits, vegetables, animals, and (hopefully) quilts.  I’m also thinking that a bull ride competition would be fun….but then again, a tractor pull sounds exciting.  I haven’t been to one of them since the day Great Adventure was too crowded so we went to the mud hop at New Egypt Speedway in New Jersey!  But, that is another story all together and this post is really not nearly as exciting as I had hoped.  The kids were asking to go back next year before we even left the fair!

3 Responses to “We’re in the Country Now!”

  1. Laura Says:

    well, i, personally, think this post was exciting! i’ve never been to a county fair, either. they don’t really do them in massachusetts. looking forward to pictures of the fair!

    love,
    laura

  2. krisvog Says:

    I’m sorry to say that I didn’t take any pictures at the fair! I’ll have to bring my camera when we go back.

  3. LLMom Says:

    We love our county fair every year. They are so much fun.

Leave a Reply

