Mom’s Last Day Here

Today was Mom’s last day here.  She’ll be picked up early in the morning tomorrow.  It went OK, but we started out with a few bumps.  I was walking between the bedroom and the kitchen and had to stop a moment because it seemed that something was strange.  Mom was lying on the living room floor.  (Mind you it is tile, so not exactly comfortable.)  “Did you fall?” I asked.  Yes, she had.  I asked if I could help, but really I couldn’t.  Mom had to get turned around on her knees.  She didn’t trip over anything, she didn’t know why she fell.  Later I asked how she was and she said she was good, just her rear end was going to be black and blue.  This reminded me of the day years ago when my sister Marie fell down the attic stairs.  We actually took a picture of Marie’s cheek.  I suppose I’ll have to dig that up and post it.  (Just kidding, Marie!)  I offered to take a picture of Mom’s rump, but she declined. 

After that, all went well.  Joe brought home a lot of blueberries last night and Mom and the children were enjoying eating them today.  I was busy making all kinds of things.  John’s Blueberry Kanten, Blueberry Crisp, Blueberry Upside-down Cake, and a coffee cake that didn’t come out well as it was a little undercooked.  The upside down cake was going good until I tried to get it out of the pan.  Let’s just say that it still really tastes good even if it didn’t look so pretty.  It was my first attempt, so I was quite pleased with the results.  blueberry upside down cake 09blueberry upside-down cake

blueberry crisp 09Blueberry crisp

John's Blueberry Kanten 09John’s Blueberry kanten (which is all but a memory now!  They ate the whole thing!)

This dessert is such a treasured food in our house that Charlotte wanted her picture with it.  charlotte with blueberry kanten

The one thing that I wanted to be sure to do during this visit was take more pictures.  Sad to say that I was not very successful in that venture.  On another note, every now and again I will look on Craigs list, usually for chairs of the dining room table variety.  When I look at all the stuff, I usually e-mail Joe a few links and that is as far as it goes.  One day last week I e-mailed several things again, but this time he liked a couch and chair set!!!  So, we were able to get it.  He drove a bit of a distance and bought these lovely furniture pieces.  Every time I walk by the living room I cannot help but to smile.  We moved our old couch into the foyer.  We hope to someday have an addition to our home that will include a schoolroom upstairs.  I would like that couch to go into the school room so we can cuddle up and read.  However, that is really off the track of this story.  Since we had this beautiful new (to us) furniture, I wanted to blog about it and thought a picture with Grandmom and the children would be great.  The only problem was finding the time.  It was nearly bedtime and everyone’s clothes were quite dirty when I realized we had to do it now!  I had all the children change clothes so we could get a picture because, after all, they were not sitting on our new furniture with dirty clothes!  The baby was a bit cranky and so was Charlotte, but we managed to get a few pictures anyway.

children with Mom-Mom  09     children with Mom-Mom 2 09   children with the new chairs 09

Leave a Reply

