The Last Part of April & Beginning of May

One Thursday a few weeks ago the children and I took a ride to Chattanooga.  We were there to see the War Between the States sites.  We spent too much time lost, but we did manage to find the picnic place and the Craven house.   We never did find the visitor’s center there, but that’s OK as it was closed for renovations.  We walked part of a trail and saw a lot of monuments.  There was also a huge rock that you’ll see in the pictures.

   

We spent the rest of the day at Chickamauga Battlefield in Georgia.  They had the best gun collection!   We need to go back and spend a few days there.  They had cannons just outside the visitor center.  The boys were especially to see a Napoleon cannon up close!

After that, we went out to eat and then to the wonderful McKay’s Used book store.  I could not figure out why they were closing an hour early.  When I asked, the man said it was 9:00 pm.  “Oh, does that mean we are in Eastern time?”  Yes, it did and I didn’t know it until then!

On the following Saturday we were in Huntsville for Alter boy training and were planning to meet some friends there that afternoon.  We had some time to spare so we went to the library.  Still more time to spare, so we went to the Veterans Memorial Museum in Huntsville.  Our guide was very knowledgeable and had served in some of these tanks.  I felt the trip was well worth the money.  We only took 1 picture…

This past Friday we went on our annual home school retreat to the Shrine of the Most Blessed Sacrament.  We took a picture by the St. Joseph statue in the courtyard.

 Just to let you know, John cracked up laughing after the picture was taken because of his expression for the picture!  Oh, those boys!

One day the girls were playing with their dolls and books on the school room floor.  Then I heard them say they wanted to go out and play.  “But you can stay in here and read,” they said to their dolls. 

This past Sunday was our May crowning.   The statue of Mary is located too high up on the wall, so the girls put flowers in the vase in honor of our Blessed Mother.  It was so sweet!

  

In the Garden…

We have our boarder of marigolds and hot peppers planted, or should I say re-planted.  The first bunch got hit with frost which was not fore-casted until a few hours after I planted them!  Ugh!  But, they look lovely and will hopefully keep those deer away.  The strawberries from last year are started to bear fruit.  Charlotte and I shared the first ripe one of the season yesterday.  Oh, they are delicious!  Yeah!  The only obstacle there is there is a rather large ant hill right there.  That strawberry yesterday helped overcome some of my fear of the ants getting all the strawberries before the humans got to them.  (Ants in Tennessee are not like ants in New Jersey or Virginia!  These ones bite!  But, I’ll save that for another post.)

The kale and beets are growing slowly but surely and I worry that it may be too hot already for them.  We might need to put up some shading.  It is well into the 80s and suppose to be that way for the next 10 days or so.  We shall see.  We also have some Royal Burgundy Bush Beans that are coming up nicely.

Yesterday the boys put up some poles resembling tee-pees and I planted Kentucky Wonder Pole Beans around two of the groups.  I’ll get the last one this evening.  I also started several plants yesterday so that when they are put in the garden I can tell them apart from the weeds.  I hope to start some flower seeds soon as well. 

The pumpkin patch is still questionable at this point.  I feel as if I should be out there planting it, but it hasn’t been plowed yet (as if Joe doesn’t have enough to do around here!)  The horse now occupy the places where they were last year and where I though of putting them this year.  So, I’m leaving it up to Joe.  They might do well in the upper pasture, but I have a hard time imagining me climbing up there every day when I am even bigger with baby, but it would be good exercise.

Last but Not Least…

My growing belly for Mary Lou.  I told Joe to take a picture of my skinny side, but I don’t think there is one of those left.  This picture was taken today officially at 25 weeks and 1 day.

4 Responses to “The Last Part of April & Beginning of May”

  1. Laura Says:

    Everyone is looking so good and healthy! That is wonderful to see. Happy May!

  2. Sue Says:

    Hey, Kris,

    Our first house (before you were born was on Craven Lane in Lawrenceville. Dad built the house. We moved to the next house on Brearley Ave. when Mary Lou was a baby. I wonder if Craven Lane was named after a relative of the Craven house people!

    I may add more when I read more.

    Thanks for posting,
    Sue

  3. Laurajean Says:

    So glad you are posting again — I missed you! Glad things are going well for everyone.

  4. Natalie Says:

    You look wonderful! Glad to put a face to your name. 🙂 I’m practically the same size tummy as you and I’m barely along! You sure do carry babies well! I can’t wait to hear of a new little one your way, will keep up the prayers for your littlest one. Looks like you sure are busy!

Leave a Reply

