Be Careful What You Pray For

Have you ever heard this expression?  There was a woman that we knew in Virginia who used to say this followed by her story.  She prayed to God for a husband.  (She forgot the word “good” before “husband”)  When the Lord gave her one she was really sorry.

Since  moving to this area about a year and a half ago, I have been putting on the poundage and outgrowing clothes at an alarming rate.  Complaining and lamenting to whoever would listen, even God, I wondered what it would take to get me back on track.  My diet wasn’t totally awful, but worse than it had been since 1999.  When we first got here Joe was gone a lot fixing up the old house.  When the kids went to bed the ice cream (rice or soy, no dairy, of course) or cookies or something of the sort would come out.  Veggies were getting farther and farther away from my diet.  Wall-mart chicken and other easy foods were creeping in more and more.  There was way too much eating going on.  Not good, not good.   I just could not help but to wonder what it would take to stop this pigging out.  Well, the answer has come.  God knows what gets my attention…health woes.  Getting larger and not fitting in clothes is a pain, but health is a real concern.  That is what prompted my radical diet change in 1999 and it is doing it again.

So, I have once again radically changed my diet for health purposes and have already lost a bit more than 5 pounds.  When I try to do it for weight, it just doesn’t seem to work.  When it is for health problems, how can I not do something.

It was a hard time finding the kind of alternative health counselor that I wanted, but there is one about an hour away and I’ll be going there on Tuesday afternoon.  Hopefully all will go well, and I’ll regain my health.  It seems as if my kidneys, bladder, and things in that area are not too happy right now, but I am getting better and that is the important thing.  Prayers would be appreciated and if you have any intentions, let me know and I’ll offer up some discomfort (although it is not as bad as it was earlier in the week, or as bad as the tooth pain, but hopefully it will do some good!)

One Response to “Be Careful What You Pray For”

  1. Ruth Says:

    I’m praying for you, dear Kristen. Lots of love. Ruth

Leave a Reply

