Prayers for Dena

Once upon a time I was a model example of Marilu Henner’s Total Health Makeover (THM).  (I hope to be again soon, but that is besides the point.)

In the beginning of 2001 we had a THM gathering in Rockville, Maryland.  Three of us there had gathered once before.  While sitting at the table talking, in walked this beautiful woman with long dark hair and striking blue eyes.  We were expecting “DLove” (her nick-name on the THM message boards) but we didn’t know what she looked like.  This woman sat by herself at a table.  A little while later she came over and timidly asked if we were discussing food, which we were, and the rest is history.  That started a beautiful friendship.

Three and a half years ago she was diagnosed with lung cancer and given 6 months to live.  Well, she is a fighter, but it seems that her time on Earth is coming to an end.  Thank God we have our wonderful memories.  Please pray for her, her son Jared, and all her family and loved ones.  As my sister in law told me before she passed away, “Don’t be sad, have a party.  I’m going to a better place.”  If only it wasn’t so hard for those left behind.

Here’s some pictures of our wonderful memories…

This was the first time we met.  Pictured are me, my sons Kevin and James, LoriT, Daralyn, and Dena.

denagroup2j.jpg
Our next gathering was on my 29th birthday.  I can’t remember the year.  In the first picture is Dar and LoriT on the top, me, MomCat (Carol), and Dena on the bottom.   The second photo is MomCat, Dena, Teresa, LoriT, me, SuO, Su’s daughter Alison, GramFlam (Eleanor), and Dar.

groupdena1j.jpg      denagroup3j.jpg

This other gathering was when MaryEllen was just a tyke, about 4 years ago.  Dena was talking to my son John quite a bit and let him call his dad on her cell phone.  I love that picture because you can see the joy that children bring to Dena.  The next photo is Dena and LoriT.  Finally Dena holding MaryEllen.

denajohnj.jpg      dena1j.jpg     denamej.jpg

7 Responses to “Prayers for Dena”

  1. SuO Says:

    Kristen, thanks for posting these photos with Dena.
    She is truly an example of living life to the fullest and has such a wonderful spirit – you can always see it in her eyes and smile.

  2. skygodess Says:

    Kristen,

    Thanks for the pics.Dena’s beautidful face is etched into my memory.So very sweet,so caring,so darling—
    I talked to her shortly after she statrted chemo the second go round & she was her usual lovely self,just very,very tired.
    She is as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside!We will all miss her terribly but her strength and memories of her will last us a lifetime.

  3. Jenna Says:

    Kristen,
    Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures and your beautiful memories. Dena is truly a hero to me. She has courage beyond that of anyone I have ever met. Her spirit is so vibrant it could light up a room. Those blue eyes, that smile, she is just pure joy and goodness. IDena has brought so many people closer to God and their faith through her own courage and faith. That is a legacy that few achieve in a hundred years. love her laugh and her heart, I love that she wouldn’t leave the house without curling her eyelashes. She is an amazing mother, friend and daughter. She is an inspiration to me and I will carry her in my heart for as long as I live. Her beauty is divine and it transcends this earthly plane. I am proud to call myself one of Dena’s Warriors. Thank you Kristen.

    Let the circle never be broken…
    Pray without ceasing…

  4. Bev Says:

    Thank you for posting these wonderful pictures. Dena has a great smile. I wish I could have met her. She is in my prayers.

  5. Annie Says:

    Thanks, Kristen…I remember missing this day..Momcat showed me the pictures..and I feel now as though I was there. Everywhere we gather feels like we all got together, you know? Love, Annie

  6. Ruth Says:

    Kristen, I will be keeping your friend, Dena in my prayers. I’m so sorry.

  7. R.I.P. Dena « Adventures in Bodenburg Says:

    […] R.I.P. Dena We’ll certainly miss Dena who passed away early this morning. We are greatful to have known such a wonderful woman and we are also greatful that her suffering is over. Please pray for the repose of her soul and for her family, especially her son, Jared. Here is my previous post about Dena. […]

Leave a Reply

