Children’s Signs

We buried Lewis in the orchard next to the St. Francis statue.  Then we had a celtic cross that we placed on the grave.  The boys went to work making grave markers on cardboard tacked to large sticks.  I’ll have a picture of them soon.  James’s sign was written with bright yellow crayon.  “Here lies Lewis Fraces Vogel.  He Dide on his Borth Day.  He fonnd Jesuse.  The fist Vogel to go to Hevin.”  The other two were just as sweet.  This little baby was, and is, so loved by his siblings.

MaryEllen wanted to know where the baby came out of my belly.  “Is it where you nurse, Mommy?”  I told her no.  “Is it from your breast?”  Again I told her no.  “Did he come out of your belly button?”  I said, “Something like that.”  Later James asked if the baby came out of my belly button.  MaryEllen responded to him very matter-of-factly, “Something like that.”

5 Responses to “Children’s Signs”

  1. victoria Says:

    My heart goes out to you and your family. You are all in our hearts and prayers and will continue to be as well. I’m so sorry .
    much love and prayers from the aguilars

  2. Sue Says:

    Dear Kris,

    You and your family are in my prayers. I miss you all and love you.

    Your favorite eldest sister,
    Sue

  3. Jenn Miller Says:

    Too sweet. The love and trust they have…children can teach volumes! More prayers for your family, Kristen!

  4. Ruth Says:

    Kristen, you have been in my prayers. I am so very sorry for your loss. I will continue to pray for your intentions, especially during Mass.

  5. Laura Says:

    I am so heartened to hear that you are all coping with your loss, and coping well, it would seem. Francis- that’s my Grandpa Larry’s twin, right? What a nice name for a tiny little angel.

    With love,
    Laura

Leave a Reply

