A Real Piece of Americana

On Thursday we closed on a nice piece of land and a barn.

new-land-update-1.JPG

It really didn’t mean too much to me, but I would rather have it than have some one come and develop it or something since it is adjoining our land.  I had been in the barn before and it was just full of junk!  All I could see was spending a lot of time cleaning it out and many trips to the dump. 

back-of-the-barn-update-2.JPG

The next two days after we closed, Joe went over there with the tractor.  When I drove by the first day it looked better around the barn to me.  On Saturday I walked over to it and found that Joe had made a wonderful path with the tractor that was right near the creek.  This was an added bonus because the grass (or whatever it is now) is up to my shoulders,  it looked like walking along the road, which happens to be a highway was the was I had to go.  Joe also cleared a few spots to the creek.  I was in my glory as I briskly walked over to the barn to take pictures with my new found knowledge. 

The neighbor across the street told Joe that there had been an auction at this place and people came from all over to get a piece of the old barn, a hinge, a screw, a scrap of wood, etc.  Years ago people traveling through the area would stop at this barn to get their picture taken in front of it.  I couldn’t believe it.  What was the big attraction?

 see-rock-city-barn-update-2.JPG

As you can see, it is a “See Rock City” barn.  There is quite a little history to this. I did a websearch and found that this attraction is the advertising of Rock City, a tourest attraction in Chattanooga, TN.  It seems that one man painted  about 900 barns between 1936 and 1969.  We have one of those barns.  We are hoping to resore the painting.   I have ordered a book all about these barns and hope that ours is in there.   Also, when I opened the door and went in, it was pretty clear!  The real estate person had people come in and clear it all out just before we bought it!  What a lovely piece of history it is.  We are delighted to have it.

7 Responses to “A Real Piece of Americana”

  1. Bridget Says:

    Wow, this is an awesome piece of property! Boy are your kids going to make some good memories there! It looks like a great place to play!

  2. Heather - NY Says:

    Congrats!!! How wonderful…

  3. Kathryn Says:

    Love the pictures, they are just loading so big it takes me a while to view them all! Next time we come trough TN I’m stopping by your place to see it for real….it looks just gorgeous!

  4. Dorothy Says:

    I D # RCB 42-28-02
    Is this your barn?

  5. Mary Ellen Barrett Says:

    How beautiful! It is so cool to have a bit of history with it as well. Congratulations, I hope the land and ban bring you all much happiness.

  6. krisvog Says:

    Dorothy, yes, that is our barn in 2005. Those little trees in the front were so grown up that Joe took them down the other day. This land has beautiful creek frontage that is making me year for summer so the children and I can go play in it!

  7. Caryn Womack Says:

    Hi there… I’m just curious, do you still own this barn/is it still standing? I’m planning a trip through TN, GA and AL to see as many of the barns as possible, and this one’s been at the top of my list — it’s so beautiful! Wanted to make sure it was still there before trekking all that way just to be heartbroken. 🙂 Congrats on owning a little piece of history!

Leave a Reply

