“The Strangest Thing” by John

Well, John wants in on this blog.  He has graciously allowed me to post the story that he wrote today.  He is going to send it into Nature Friend magazine.

The Strangest Thing

“Deer!” I cried.  I was 7 years old living in Virginia.  It wasn’t my first time seeing deer.  We lived in the shadows of Shenandoah National Park.   Anyway, Mom, Dad, and my brothers ran to the window.  It was rainy.  “That’s not a deer.  That’s a bobcat!”  Suddenly it stopped raining.  My dad went out there and threw fire crackers at him.  We later found our that it was a bobcat that had just eaten lunch.  He felt like a king.

 ***************************

That was a strange day, the only time we have ever seen a bobcat, except in the zoo.  They are not those tiny little cats crouched in the corner.  This one was about the size of a medium/large dog.  He actully looked at all of us in the window as if to say, “Oh, humans,” and then just walked off, taking his time.  Later I called down to the O.J. Rudicile store in Browntown, VA where the owner, Tom, knows everything.  He informed us that it sounded like the same bobcat that used to lounge around in so-an-so’s front yard.  It was a day that we won’t ever forget.

3 Responses to ““The Strangest Thing” by John”

  1. Aunt Sue Says:

    Dear John,

    I enjoyed reading your story. Your words are so good I can picture it in my mind! Keep writing, you’re good at it!
    Love,
    Aunt Sue

  2. Laura Says:

    Great story, John! You write very well. Now, we just need a drawing of that bobcat…!

    I miss you!

    Love,
    Laura

  3. World Of Cute Kids Says:

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

Leave a Reply

